top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureARRKOM 2019

Sights and words by Ylva Perera

Updated: Aug 2, 2019


This is my first time at NSU, and after a few days I must say I’m really positively overwhelmed. I’ve

been participating in the Feminist Philosophy circle, and has found it to be a really inspiring

environment where we learn not only about what our fellow circle participants are working on in

their various disciplines, but more importantly about HOW they work. We’ve been thinking together

about how one can do philosophy in a more feminist way, how one can work together with others,

and what particular challenges academia poses in relation to feminism. Having just started my PhD,

and thus being quite new to academia, it has been very valuable to be reminded of that I don’t just

have to accept the structures and hierarchies for what they are – we can create other spaces

together.

The NSU itself feels like this sort of alternative space – also now when we’re located here in this

strange but beautiful place. I’m not saying I don’t see problems or challenges, but I’m really happy I

get to be a part of this. That I get to listen and think and talk together with others during the day, do

yoga or run along the beach during breaks, and drink beers watching the sunset in the evening is not

what PhD-life is always like, but I’m glad it gets to be like this sometimes.


Ylva, Finland

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kathi Seebeck's thoughts

Text by Kathi Seebeck, August 2019. Practical critique One of the most important questions, it seems, was raised during the last fifteen minutes of the symposium: have we been critical enough? The ans

bottom of page