top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureARRKOM 2019

Irma Budginaitė-Mačkinė's impressions

In late 2016 a message arrived at my university e-mail box inviting me to take part in the winter

symposium in Wroclaw organised by the NSU study circle ‘Understanding Migration in Nordic and Baltic Countries’.


It was the first time I heard about NSU and, to tell the truth, I had a very hard time to understand it at

first and place it among the other initiatives I encountered.

From the day one at my first winter symposium, however, I knew that I have stumbled upon something very special and to this day I feel very fortunate to have learned about NSU (thanks to Stephanie).It was the very first symposium organized by this study circle I attended in Wroclaw and almost three years later I am attending the last one in Roosta.


When I ask myself what kept me returning, I come to think that the interdisciplinarity, openness to

others and genuine interest in others’ work created a unique environment, which made me feel at home with my own (inter)disciplinary and personal ‘baggage’. This summer the feeling of ‘home’ got expandedfrom one circle to the whole NSU.


There were so many great moments over the last few days Roosta that I appreciate: overwhelmingly

powerful keynotes, interesting sessions organized by the circle(s) and very inspiring research projects

presented by other participants, as well as opportunity to get to know NSU better. I will leave Roosta

inspired to ‘stay more attuned’ and to ‘look to the world through the eyes of a three-year-old’.

What I will treasure the most, however, are the moments of personal connection(s). The feeling of

knowing someone for a long time regardless having met just a few moments ago. The feeling of wishing to meet again.



Until the next meeting(s),

Irma

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kathi Seebeck's thoughts

Text by Kathi Seebeck, August 2019. Practical critique One of the most important questions, it seems, was raised during the last fifteen minutes of the symposium: have we been critical enough? The ans

bottom of page